Kingdom Animalia: Phyla Porifera, Cnidaria, and Ctenophora
Read Online

Kingdom Animalia: Phyla Porifera, Cnidaria, and Ctenophora Separate from Laboratory Outlines in Biology VI by Peter Abramoff

  • 671 Want to read
  • ·
  • 71 Currently reading

Published by W. H. Freeman .
Written in English


  • Science / Biology,
  • Life Sciences - Biology - General,
  • Science,
  • Science/Mathematics

Book details:

The Physical Object
Number of Pages16
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL10525966M
ISBN 100716791021
ISBN 109780716791027

Download Kingdom Animalia: Phyla Porifera, Cnidaria, and Ctenophora


Laboratory 8: Animal Diversity I 1 Laboratory Exercise 8: Animal Diversity I Phyla Porifera, Cnidaria, Platyhelminthes and Nematoda Biology II Laboratory BSCL Version: BJ AG NB AN SF BE DM 12Oct14 Material from this lab exercise is covered in Chapter 33 of the textbook Biology, 10th Edition, by Reece, Urry, Cain, Wasserman, Minorsky and Jackson.. This handout is a supplement to Chapter 7. Animalia-Porifera, Ctenophora, Cnidaria, Protostomes. STUDY. Flashcards. Learn. Write. Radiata-Radial symmetry, diploblastic, paraphyletic (cnidaria & ctenophora) 4 groups of bilateria? Acoela, Deuterostomia, Lophotrochozoa, Ecdysozoa -Sponges-Position within animalia under debate-paraphyletic or monophyletic? -no true tissues/organs. Kingdom Animalia: Phyla Porifera, Cnidaria, and Ctenophora by Peter Abramoff, Robert G. Thomson, January 1, , W. H. Freeman edition, Paperback in English. Primitive phyla without a true coelom include the Porifera and Coelenterata (Cnidaria). Animal phyla are classified according to certain criteria, including the type of coelom, symmetry, body plan, and presence of segmentation. Sponges (Porifera) have a primitive cellular level of .

A phylum is the taxonomical rank below kingdom and above class. The kingdom Animalia contains approximately 40 phyla. Organisms are grouped into phyla based on a general body plan. For example. Kingdom animalia is divided into two sub kingdoms-Parazoa (cellular level) and Eumetazoa (tissue level) Subkingdom Parazoa includes the Phylum Porifera. Subkingdom Eumetazoa includes all the Phyla from coelenterates to chordates.   Animals are multicellular eukaryotic organisms that form the biological kingdom Animalia. With few exceptions, animals consume organic material, breathe oxygen, are able to move, can reproduce sexually, and grow from a hollow sphere of cells, the blastula, during embryonic development. Over million living animal species have been described—of which around 1 million are . One of the major divisions of living things; the second-largest standard unit of biological classification. Arthropods and molluscs are examples of phyla. Phyla in the plant kingdom are frequently.

Kingdom Animalia includes all organisms that develop from a hollow ball of cells called a blastula. Most animals have well-developed motility. The simplest animals include the sponges (Porifera) and the Cnidaria. Sponges are unsymmetrical or radially symmetrical, with many cell types but no distinct tissues; their bodies contain numerous pores and sharp protective spicules. Porifera Without body cavity (acoelomates) Coelenterata (Cnidaria) Ctenophora Platyhelminthes Aschelminthes Annelida Arthropoda Mollusca *Echinodermata Hemichordata Chordata Animalia (multicellular) *Echinodermata exhibits radial or bilateral symmetry depending on the stage. Figure Broad classification of Kingdom Animalia based on common. Organisms in Kingdom Animalia are classified into different phylum including Porifera, Cnidaria, Ctenophora, Platyhelminthes, Aschelminthes, Annelida, Arthropoda, Mollusca, Echinodermata, Hemichordata, and Chordata. Here, let us know in detail about the higher invertebrate animal phyla. Characteristics Of Higher Invertebrate Animals Phylum Annelida. From Wikibooks, open books for an open world.